Instructor's Forum

Editing Files

 
Picture of Stephen K. Spyker
Editing Files
by Stephen K. Spyker - Wednesday, April 6, 2005, 1:01 PM
 
In the past I (and others) have been frustrated editing uploaded files in Moodle. You'll edit the file, re-upload it, but Moodle seems to insist on displaying the old version. To get around this  I've advised people to delete the old file, upload the new file with a different name ane recreate any links to the file. However, I just did an experiment where all I did was delete the old file, upload the new file (same name) and kept the existing links. As expected the links showed the old version of the file, but a simple click of the reload button on my browser brought up the new version (in the past this hasn't always done the trick). Perhaps this was a bug in Moodle that has been fixed. At any rate, remember to use the reload button liberally; it can save you a lot of confusion and frustration.